h1

Looking back on 2011: Marni shares her thoughts on the state of hiring, the significance of the manufacturing industry and her resolutions for 2012

December 14, 2011

Season’s Greetings!

As 2011 soon draws to a close, I want to extend my sincere thanks for your collaboration, colleagueship and support over the past year.

It wasn’t that long ago that we were reflecting on an economy on the brink–what a difference a year makes! There is renewed energy and optimism among Minnesota’s small and mid-sized companies, and hiring continues on an upward trajectory once again.

I was recently asked by a colleague to share my reflections of the past year–focusing my personal experience with the current state of hiring and business. I’m pleased to share these thoughts with you here:

 Q:        What trends did you see in 2011 among companies searching for talent? 

Marni: Many of my searches were the result not of new positions but of replacing managers who didn’t have the required leadership or management skills to take the company to the next level. The companies I’ve worked with have each developed a growth plan; taken time to review talent already on board; identified weak spots; and have had the necessity, timing or courage to make adjustments and upgrade talent.

Q:        Why is this so important? 

Marni:  A business simply cannot afford to keep managers who don’t (or can’t) inspire their team to achieve greater performance or innovate with new processes and procedures that will increase revenue, outmaneuver the competition and add value to customers. They will get left behind.

Q:        What is a big challenge facing these companies right now? 

Marni: When executives look at their company’s growth plan, they run into the “loyalty” factor. Small and midsized companies frequently have built a culture of loyalty among long-tenured employees, and when these employees are not the right fit for the job anymore,  it’s difficult for the company leaders to pull the trigger and not honor this. It’s an emotionally charged decision that owners have to make, because they can’t hinder their growth efforts because of just a few  people. (See my New Year’s Resolution tips, below.)  

Q:        What other trends have you seen this year among hiring companies? 

Marni: Without question, my clients are seeking candidates who’ve demonstrated results: realigning departments, improving processes, innovating products, finding new markets, coaching teams to increased performance, and increasing revenues.

Q:        What is your industry focus for next year? 

Marni: Manufacturing will continue to be a core service focus for Hockenberg Search in 2012. I enjoy working with those in the manufacturing industry. I find Minnesota manufacturing leaders to be creative and innovative, and I admire that they are constantly striving to find solutions to business problems to help their customers be more efficient and develop new products that enhance our quality of life.  

Q:        Why manufacturing? 

Marni: I personally am very proud that manufacturing has been a backbone of growth in the U.S. It’s a critical component to our recovery and to the future of our nation. I love the U.S. and want to see us continue to thrive and be a leader in the world. It gives me great pride to be a small part of the solution in helping our country get back on its feet again by supporting growth and innovation in the manufacturing industry. I also enjoy working with hiring managers and candidates in the manufacturing industry because they have great clarity around what they are looking for. Leaders with an engineering background are great to work with!

Q:        What were the most rewarding highlights of the year? 

Marni: First of all, it’s so rewarding working with great companies and helping them grow by recruiting the right person for them-and helping a candidate grow by placing them with a great company.

A second highlight has been giving back to my dad, Bud Hockenberg, who recently launched a unique new CEO Independent Advisor service providing confidential, unbiased advice to executives facing change or challenge. I have personally seen the need for his business because I see the fallout from so many business decisions that were the result of a CEO not getting independent advice. 

My dad’s venture is also a lesson that you can move forward and reinvent yourself at any age and at any point in your career. Anyone can have a good idea and grow it! In addition, my business and my dad’s business are well aligned: We both have dedicated our professional lives to helping companies succeed.    

Q:        What is your New Year’s Resolution for your clients? 

Marni: I love working with business owners and hiring managers from small and midsized companies. They view me as a valued business partner. My job is to ‘watch their back’ to make sure they don’t make a fatal hiring mistake. In a small company, every hire is critical. So, in 2012, I resolve to be a secret weapon in their war for talent! 

Leave a comment